Progress

Yesterday I got quite a bit accomplished with my knitting. I only have 2 active works in progress (WIPs) right now. They are the Mitered Square Afghan and the Martha Stewart Cover Cowl. I have a fear of having too many WIPs and never finishing any of them so, I try to have no more than 3 WIPs at a time. So, even if I get tired or bored with a project I continue to work on it.

Let’s talk about this afghan. I started this afghan back in 2007 for my boyfriend at the time. I did about three rows then, stopped. I had the afghan tucked away in my yarn stash for 4 years and didn’t think I would ever pick it back up. Then one day I was on Ravelry and I got inspired by the many different versions of this afghan. So, I picked it back up and started working on it. I plan on finishing this afghan by April 15th because I want to start on another afghan and I REFUSE to have two afghan WIPs. LOL. To make sure I stick to finishing this afghan I made a calendar telling myself to knit 3 mitered squares each day. It’s been working 🙂

The pattern is super simple and very easy to memorize. The yarn I am using is Red Heart Super Saver. The colors are Dark Sage, Hunter Green, and Frosty Green. Obviously, I am sticking to the shades of green. I plan on having this afghan for the rest of my life and I figured green is a great color that usually goes with most decor.

Moving on to the cowl that started in Winter 2011 and won’t be worn until Winter 2012. I finished the cowl cabled portion yesterday. The pattern told me to stop at 29 inches and even though I kept measuring the piece I still went over and it’s 30 inches in length. Oh well. Also, yesterday I made another miscrossed cable 😦 So, the total count for miscrossed cables on this cowl is 4. I plan on fixing them during the finishing process. Today I plan on starting on the edging for the cowl and hopefully if the Lord wills I will finish by the end of this week. BTW, the yarn for the cowl is Red Heart in Aran Fleck.

Pictures of my progress…

3 thoughts on “Progress

  1. You have more self-control than I do! I have too many WIPs going right now. Although, I have sworn to myself that I WILL NOT start anything else until they are all finished. Fingers-crossed! 🙂

    • IKR!! I get soooo tempted to start so many projects. So, I try to make myself content by just gazing and reading the pattern over and over. It works but, it still makes me want to pick up the needles and just start. LOL! And hopefully your new vow will help you stick with those WIPs. 🙂

  2. I’m currently working on a crochet project that is almost 2 years old. You have me beat. So glad you are finishing the blanket. It’s going to be awesome.

Leave a Reply

