Book Review: Knit Red, Stitching for Women’s Heart Health

knit red 2I first Knit Red, Stitching for Women’s Heart Health advertised in my Vogue Knitting magazine. I thought it looked like a great book with a great cause and with some gorgeous patterns. So, I then checked out the book on Ravelry so, I could get a look at all the patterns and I fell in love. As soon as it came out, I scooped it up in Books-A-Million for about $20. Great deal! Let me just tell you a few things about this book…

The book features 31 patterns from the top designers in the knitting world. I’ll just name a few from the top of my head: Deborah Norville, Debbie Bliss, Debbie Stoller, Deborah Newton, Nicky Epstein, and so many more! And let me just say they really brought their A-game with these designs. The designs are so beautiful–ranging from a skill level of Easy – Experienced. The designs feature lace, cables, texture, simple stockinette stitch, and so much more. They are beautifully displayed with that gorgeous red color. Every pattern in the book is in red as a tribute to Heart Disease.

The book doesn’t just stop with the gorgeous knits, it really gives useful information on Heart Disease. Heart Disease is the number one killer on women in the United States. I must admit that I didn’t even know this. It really raised my awareness. The book features information on how we can lead healthier lifestyles, the designers tell us how Heart Disease affected their lives, they provide heart healthy recipes, and other resources on preventative measures. I am so happy that this book is helping to spread the awareness for Heart Disease.

I dream of making about 99% of the patterns in this book but, here are my top picks: (1) Cabled Knee Highs by Deborah Norville (2) Dolman Sleeve Sweater by Debbie Bliss (3) Heart Motif Mitts by Debbie Stoller (4) Modular Dress by Maie Landra (5) Cowl Neck Vest by Cecily Glowik MacDonald

I’ll leave you with a few inspiring pictures of the designs from the book…

a line hoodiecabled knee highshome spa setone shoulder tunicslip stitch beret

 

Leave a Reply

