A Crafting Moment: Quilting

I have been wanting to learn to quilt for some years now. First, I needed the sewing machine and my sister, Alison, gave me one as a gift about a year ago. Next, I needed the space. So, I moved into a new apartment a few months back and I had decent space. Then, I needed the supplies and the knowledge. So, I bought the supplies and books. I also watched a lot of YouTube videos and I was ready to tackle quilting.

I started over my Holiday break. I began by learning how to work the sewing machine, I read a few of the books I bought to help me, which are (1) A Passion for Quilting, (2) Whip Up Mini Quilts, (3) Quilting 200 Q & A, and (4) Sewing Basics: All You Need to Know About Machine and Hand Sewing.

I started with a project from Nicki Trench’s book A Passion for Quilting. I started with the smallest project in the book which was a Trivet. Now, this was my very first project and I see where it needs major improving. My binding is not the best at all, my criss-cross stitches are a bit crooked, my seams are not aligned,  and I am not crazy about the binding colors with the patchwork colors. But, nonetheless, I am pretty pleased with how it came out.

This is the Trivet from Nicki Trench's book.
This is the Trivet from Nicki Trench’s book.
This is my version of the Trivet...
This is my version of the Trivet…

After I completed the trivet, I was ready to tackle something a bit larger but not too large. So, I referred to my book Whip Up Mini Quilts by Kathreen Ricketson. I chose to do the first mini quilt because it involved basic squares and rectangles and it was Level Easy. Of course, I don’t have the supplies to print a photo to put in the quilt (which, would have been super cool!) so, I decided to draw a template of an owl (because I ADORE owls) and applique it to the quilt. I really enjoyed this pattern and I could see the improvement from my first project already. As soon as I finished it, I put it on the small table in my living room so, it could be displayed in a nice way.

The Pensive Pansy Photo Quilt is at the bottom left corner (with the pug in front of it.)
The Pensive Pansy Photo Quilt is at the bottom left corner (with the pug in front of it.)
This is my version of the Pensive Pansy Photo Quilt.
This is my version of the Pensive Pansy Photo Quilt.

I’m looking forward to tackling more quilting projects in the future. I plan on trying some Bandana Quilts/Lap Blankets in the future…

One thought on “A Crafting Moment: Quilting

Leave a Reply

