Book Review: Sweater Girls

Sweater_girls_lgI have been purchasing quite a few craft books in the past few months. It is for that reason that I am now on a break from purchasing more. (Even though, I have been really wanting to purchase Blueprint Sweater by Robyn Chachula)

But, on to the review. If you know me, then you would know I love all things vintage, antique, old, whatever you may call it. So, when I was browsing the books in the Needlecraft section of Books-A-Million I knew I had to purchase it. They took old patterns from the 1940s, 1950s, and 1960s and they put them in this book. I think there are about two new designs in the book but, they also have a vintage feel to it.

Pros:

1. A nice number of vintage sweaters. There are also some gorgeous knitted stockings, a fair isle hat, a lace skirt, and some elegant wristers.

2. Nice instructions (I have read over a few but, I have yet to do a pattern yet.)

3. Very diverse. As aforementioned the patterns are from the 1940s – 1950s so, they are all the same style.

4. Beautiful and inspiring photos. They kept with the vintage feel but, still you can really see yourself wearing the style in today’s era.

Cons:

1. All of the patterns use fingering yarn except, the wristers (sport yarn). So, for me that means I have to order because there aren’t really any yarn stores in my area. I am limited to the department stores. But, KnitPicks really answers this call.

2. The patterns are mainly worked flat so, there will be a bit of seaming and a lot of finishing.

Future projects from the book I plan on making are: Clara Bow Panel Sweater, Vivien Sweater, Great Lacy Wristwarmers

Below I have featured a few of my favorite designs:

Sweater Girls 2 Sweater Girls 4 v5_medium2

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Sweater Girls

Leave a Reply

