Finished Object: Bowtie Beauty

So, I just finished this bowtie this morning. I received a request for some bowties for an event and I decided, Why not? I usually don’t take commissions because I am not a big fan of having clients and the stress that comes along with it. I enjoy what I do and don’t want to lose that joy. So, I told her I would make it for her as a gift. She requested a few colors. So, I finished the blue. I’m currently making a vivid purple one and then, a fuchsia.

PhotoGrid_1371070296943 IMG_20130612_093840I searched Ravelry and the Internet for Bowtie patterns but, I wasn’t a big fan of most of them. So, I decided I’ll just make my own pattern. This is my first pattern and though it is super simple I think it is great for a beginner. It uses three different stitch patterns: seed stitch, garter stitch, and 1×1 ribbing. So, it keeps things interested. I am also pretty pleased with the construction of the bowtie. I added two buttonholes to the neckband because I wanted the bowtie to be adjustable since we all have different neck sizes. I also chose these precious nautical inspired gold buttons. I think they look gorgeous against the royal blue.

I think the bow portion could be used for a number of things. Such as adorning hats, as a necklace, a pin, etc.

Details:

Yarn – Red Heart Super Saver

Needle – 8 (5.0 mm)

Level – Beginner to Easy

I will probably make this pattern available for free. So, check out my Ravelry for the future pattern.

I also want better pictures of the bowtie (These were taken with my phone for this post). So, I’ll post future picks of me (or someone) wearing the bowtie.

One thought on “Finished Object: Bowtie Beauty

Leave a Reply

