Test Knitting: A to Z by Andi Satterlund

???????????????????Well, the project that has been getting all of my attention lately has been the cardigan that I am test knitting for Andi of Untangling Knots (Did I mention how great that blog is?). For the most part, it is a simple stockinette stitch cardigan but, I learned how to make seamless pockets and did a bit of intarsia. The instructions were clear and concise so, I had no problem creating them. I did notice that there were  a few extra rows in the pockets but, I continued with the pattern and blended the rows in while weaving the strands from the pockets in. It should have been 4 rows shorter…

So far, there hasn’t been any major problems in the pattern that have hindered my progress and I think it looks great so far.

I do prefer top-down sweaters because you get to try it on as you work but, there has been some benefits from working this sweater from the bottom-up. First off, I get the big part of the knitting out of the way. Also, I was able to get those seamless pockets done, which I think will be the most complex part of this pattern. And I was able to get the intarsia done on the pockets. That was my first time doing intarsia and it was no biggy. Since it was such a small amount done, I think it was great practice. So, now I am just smooth sailing…

I am finishing up the body and then, I will divide the left front, back, and right front.

The yarn I am using is Cascade 220 Superwash, which was purchased at the Yarnhouse Studio. I decided to go with a vivid green and a navy to tone down the green a bit. I like that it has the varsity jacket feel with these colors. Then, I will get to add my initial on the cardigan and I think that will really add to it also.

Life has been busy but, I have been making sure to work on this whenever I have a free moment–everyday. We have been having Vacation Bible School at my church from 5:00 pm – 8:00 pm for the past 2 nights and we have it tonight also. So, I have been pretty much going to work, picking up my nieces/nephew, then church, dropping off my nieces/nephew, and then arriving home just in time to wind down.

Oh yeah, I started going to the Sit N’ Knit at the Yarnhouse Studio Saturday from, 10:00 am – 12:00 pm. It has been so much fun! I have always wanted to sit and chat and knit with others who shared a passion for this craft that has my heart. So, I have been enjoying it. This past Saturday, I worked on my sleeves for my Chuck. And I actually got quite a bit done just from that sitting. So, this weekend I plan on taking Chuck again and working on it. But, the majority of my attention is still on A to Z…IMG_7481[1]

Leave a Reply

