Book Review: Superstar Knitting by Debbie Stoller

superstar knittingI simply love Debbie Stoller’s books. I currently own the Knitter’s Handbook, the Happy Hooker, Stitch Nation, and Superstar Knitting. The only book I don’t own is the one she made for men’s fashions because I don’t feel I would get much use out of it.

On to the review…

I like the concept of this book. Pretty much, it is for those of us  who want to advance our knitting techniques. The previous Debbie Stoller books had great projects but, they were limited in their techniques. This book focuses on cables, intarsia, fair isle, lace, steeking, and so much more! I am the type of person that loves to advance and challenge myself when it comes to my crafts. It’s the way I keep things interesting. So, this book definitely answers my call.

Pros:

1. 41 patterns

2. Beautiful and wearable patterns

3. Gorgeous photography

4. The book is divided by (1) instructions and (2) the patterns

5. There is a diverse set of patterns–for baby, house, accesories, and adults

Cons:

1. I don’t feel the instruction part goes into enough detail for complex techniques. There will be a need for further research.

Below are a few of my favorite projects…

superstar1 superstar3 superstar2 superstar4 superstar6 superstar5

 

Leave a Reply

