Inspiration: Accessories

I am constantly scouring the Internet for patterns and inspiration. There is so much to choose from Ravelry to Pinterest to Blogs. I find myself flocking to sweater patterns more often than not. However, I really love shawls/wraps, wristers, gloves, mittens, socks, hats, etc. However, I find that I don’t often flock to the accessories as often as I do the garments.

Shawls/Wraps

There are some gorgeous shawls in a previous issue of Knitscene and the current issue of Knitscene magazine. Also, this previous weekend my sister surprised me and bought Coastal Knits for me. I have been wanting this book since the day it came out so, I am pretty excited to have this added to my library. There is this simply wonderful shawl in the new book that I really need to make. It is elegant and breezy–two things I like.

coastal knits shawl knitscene shawl fall 2013 knitscene shawll fall 2012

Socks

I have not really found that many sock patterns that I plan on making in the future. I saw a rather cute pair in the now-canceled Your Knitting Life magazine that I plan on making and that I do have the yarn for in my stash. So, I may try that pattern for my first pair of socks. I have also been looking at a pair of crochet socks that was in a past issue of Crochet Today that I think I would like to try. It will be nice to compare knitted socks versus crochet socks to see the difference and feel.

your knitting life lace socks CTSO08SOCKS02

Gloves/Mittens

Every year the Winter issues of Vogue Knitting has some gorgeous mittens/gloves. I flock to the cabled gloves and mittens before the more standard pairs. I must admit that I do have a weakness for cables so, they really answer my call with this. Another gorgeous pair of mittens that I have been eyeing is from Alana Dakos Botanical Knits. It is such a gorgeous pair that I cannot stop staring at. So, I look forward to trying that out. But, I have to get the book first…

vogue knitting mittens vogue knitting gloves botanical knits mittens

Hats

I have made so many crochet hats since I have started crocheting in 2007. I do believe that a crochet hat was my first project that I made for myself when I was learning. However, the crazy thing is that I have never made a knitted hat even though I see so many gorgeous hat patterns. I do plan on making quite a few hat patterns for myself for this Fall/Winter but, I still have yet to get to it. I had plan on making some hats during my vacation and even took along the yarn, pattern, and needles but, I didn’t get to it.

coastal knits hat knit hat knitscne hat fall 2013

Well, that is what has been inspiring me of late. Just thought, I would share that with you all.

Leave a Reply

