WIP: Bags, Cowl, Hat

So, I have been pretty busy these past few weeks with projects that I am creating for the Missionary Department at my church. They requested that I make some scarves, hats, and bags. The scarves and hats went by pretty well (I made 5 of each). However, the bags proved to take the most time. And what is funny is that I chose a pretty simple pattern so, that it could work up quick. I knew I wanted a bag that wouldn’t have motifs that needed to be joined. Also, I didn’t want anything with a lot of color changes. So, I chose the mesh bag from the book Crochet One Skein Wonders. Bags always take a little extra time because even after the crochet is done the lining still needs to be added.

Last night, I started the process of adding the lining. Tonight I will hand stitch it to the purses. I just need to settle in with a couple of good movies and get started.

I am using Red Heart Super Saver in carrot, soft navy, grey heather, burgundy, and amethyst for these projects.

IMG_7712[1] IMG_7713[1]

Now, as for my personal knitting and crochet. I have been working on some accessories. I started the Shell Net Cowl from Crochet One Skein Wonders and I also started the Rustling Leaves Beret from Coastal Knits. These projects do not take long but, since I have been busy with the Missionary Project they have been put on the backburner. Coastal Knits has so many lovely projects but, I didn’t want to start anything big from the book because I already have quite a few sweaters queued that I want to get to. So, I thought this hat would be the perfect thing to start. I am using Malabrigo Finito in Mostaza and man do I love this yarn!!! It feels divine and the color is beyond beautiful. For my cowl from Crochet One Skein Wonders I am using my Knit Picks Shadow Lace in Opal Heather. I bought this yarn before I had a project in mind for it. Then, I bought the book and knew this was the project for this yarn. I love the grey color of this yarn with the pinkish/purple undertones.

IMG_7720[1]

I really want to finish these up because soon I will be starting the Hetty KAL and that will be taking up most of my time.

I will update you with pictures of everything I have made from the Missionary Project when I am done…

Leave a Reply

