WIP: Hetty KAL

As I have told you all previously, I am participating in the KAL for Hetty by Andi Satterlund. You may click the badge to the right of the blog for more info.

I started doing my gauge swatch over the weekend because my yarn arrived on Friday. Yay!

However, I was making stupid and careless mistakes with the lace pattern. And it is not even a hard lace pattern. But, I was trying to do the swatch near the end of my full days and I think I was just tired and zoning out. Well, I finally got on track with the lace pattern. I first swatched on size 7 needles–even though the pattern calls for size 8. I had entirely too many stitches for the 4 inches. I moved on to the size 8 and I had 18 stitches per four inches. Then, I saw that Andi stressed the importance of doing a swatch and blocking it. So, I did this and I was able to get a perfect gauge of 15 sts X 24 rows = 4 inches. It was also good to swatch because then, the lace pattern really popped. At first it wasn’t that noticeable and a bit bunched.

The swatch also gave me a good idea of how the yarn will look with this lace pattern and how it will block. I really like it. I am using Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Tweed in Papaya Heather.

I plan on casting on pretty soon…IMG_7759[1] IMG_7736[1]

Leave a Reply

