Finished Object: Shell Net Cowl

So, this previous weekend I finally finished and blocked my Shell Net Cowl from the book Crochet One Skein Wonders. I initially picked up this pattern to have a mindless project to work on while at the Yarnhouse Studio‘s Sit N’ Knit on Saturday. Well, this turned out to be not as mindless as I would have liked.

First off, I had to chain over 350 chains. And counting chains that small was making my eyes go wonky. I ended up ripping back twice and I still ended up with an extra chain but, I moved on and got over it.

Also, for some stupid reason I did not initially work this in a continuous round. And this was my idiotic mistake because this is clearly a moebius, which means it should have been a continuous round. By the time I caught this mistake I had completed about 7 rounds. So, I had to rip back. And that was a major pain! The yarn kept breaking and I was getting super frustrated. But, I finally got it all ripped back, started over, and completed the cowl.

I blocked my cowl, which gave it more of drape when compared with the original photo. I am pretty pleased with the end results.

Details:

Yarn – Knit Picks Shadow

Color – Opal Heather

Hook – 2.25 mm

Level – Easy

IMG_7768[1] IMG_7771[1]

While working on this cowl in the knitting group, a member made a request for me to make her one. She bought the yarn and I’ll soon be casting on another. I kinda wanted to take a break from this pattern but, hopefully I will hook it up quickly and get it off my mind. I’ll update you with the progress of that future cowl…

2 thoughts on “Finished Object: Shell Net Cowl

Leave a Reply

