Finished Object: Shell Net Cowl

This weekend I worked on all my WIPs…and I finished them all! Woo Hoo! I knew that I wanted to finish my current projects because I will soon be going on winter break and I want to devote the entire time to knitting Aiken, Geraldine, and Ethel. So, I will be blogging about all the recently finished objects but, let’s first start with Edition 2 of the Shell Net Cowl…

You may remember that I made a Shell Net Cowl for myself a few months ago. I figured that it would be a super-simple project and didn’t pay much attention to it. Well, I should have looked at it more carefully. The cowl was supposed to be a Mobius Cowl and I just worked it in a continuous round. I realized this mistake when working on the second Shell Net Cowl. I loathe mistakes so, I no longer wanted that cowl. The yarn was too delicate to rip back so, I gave it to my mom and she loves it. Now, let’s talk about this new Shell Net Cowl.

When working on the first cowl at the knitting group, I was approached by a fellow-knitter who did not crochet. She asked that I crochet her one so, I said yes. She purchased the yarn, which is Malabrigo Lace in Cactus Flower. The yarn was  delight to work with and the color called to me (I adore pink. It’s my favorite color.). She requested that the cowl be longer so, I added 30 extra stitches to the foundation chain. And I literally had just enough yarn to finish the cowl.

This can be worked up fast but, for some reason I move relatively slow on shorter projects. I devote so much time to my larger projects that the shorter projects usually go on the backburner. Once you get everything started, this pattern can be memorized very easily. It’s the perfect on-the-go project to carry around in your knitting bag.

Because I do adore this pattern and this delicate cowl. I have already purchased some more yarn from Knit Picks to make another for myself. I ordered the Shadow Tonal Lace Yarn in Deep Waters this time around. If I have enough time, I plan on working on this over the break.

IMG_8333[1] IMG_8337[1]

IMG_8339[1]IMG_8341[1]

Leave a Reply

