WIP: Geraldine Pullover

For awhile now I have been wanting to try stranded colorwork (a.k.a. Fair Isle). But, I have never tackled and it always seems like such an enormous feat. I would look in all my knitting how-to books and see all those strands of yarn and get just super nervous. I have also looked at numerous videos on stranded colorwork, which helped to explain things a bit better. But, the nervousness was and still is there. I keep thinking What if my tension is too loose or too tight? What if I can’t get the hang of holding two-three strands of yarn? Will the different yarn balls get tangled? Yes, I really do battle with myself over this.

Then, one day I saw the most gorgeous vintage fair isle sweater. It was made with fingering weight yarn and the fair isle was all over the sweater. Since I couldn’t get it out of my mind, I figured I was up for the challenge. Well, I ordered the yarn then, that nervousness came back.

I talked with the owner at the local yarn store about wanting to tackle fair isle. She suggested starting with something small like a hat to get a feel for it. I had planned on doing this then, Andi’s Geraldine pullover came out. It was the perfect project to practice colorwork! It only features 30 rows of colorwork. And I especially liked that it was in a sweater because sweaters are my fave projects to make.

Yes, the nervousness is still there but, I am up for the challenge. And who knows, I may be building this up in my mind. So, we shall see…

I chose to go with colors in the blue family and I simply adore this Marina blue, which will be the main color. Last night, I winded all the balls of yarn and tried a gauge swatch on Size 5 needles. That didn’t work. This morning I tried Size 4 needles and it didn’t come out perfect but, I am going with the Size 4 needles. The pattern calls for a gauge of 24 sts X 38 rows = 4 inches. I am getting 24 sts X 36 rows = 4 inches. So, as I am knitting I will adjust the row count if the need arises…

The yarn being used is Knit Picks Brava Sport in Marina, Tranquil, Celestial, Red, Camel Heather, and Black.

IMG_8634[1]IMG_8707[1]

2 thoughts on “WIP: Geraldine Pullover

  1. That sweater is going to look fabulous in blue. Great choice. And don’t sweat it too much about Fair Isle, it’s a lot easier than you’d think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

