WIP: Geraldine Pullover and Ethel Beret

As you know from the previous post, I am in the process of moving. Argh! It is so annoying and moving is interrupting my knitting. But, despite the stress of moving, I am excited to be leaving that area. I have actually started staying at the new place. I just have to get the last of my things moved to the new place.

Despite all of this, I have been steadily working on my Geraldine pullover. I am now on the Body portion of the pullover and I am really pleased with my color scheme. I can’t wait to show you all the finished product!

IMG_8747[1]

And since this pullover has a matching beret, I have cast on for that as well. The Ethel beret is a beautiful beret that features an adorable pom pom on the back. Last year, I ordered a pom pom maker from Knit Picks and I am very anxious to use it for this gorgeous hat. I actually got gauge with Size 4 needles but, I decided to go up to Size 5 needles for the hat because I have a rather large head and very thick hair.

IMG_8745[1]

This beret will give me the chance to practice stranded color work in the round. From my reading on the subject, I understand that things can get a bit too tight if you’re not careful. So, I am really going to try keeping the tension even. I would like to start the color chart on this beret as soon as possible but, who knows when that’ll happen with this full weekend ahead.

I also plan on casting on for the matching Aida wristers. It is funny that I was so afraid to try color work but, now I want to make everything in the Wrapped in Wool collection. I really think this collection is great practice for a newbie to color work.

2 thoughts on “WIP: Geraldine Pullover and Ethel Beret

Leave a Reply

