Making A New Skirt

IMG_9788[1] IMG_9789[1] IMG_9791[1]After I made my last skirt, I was really excited about starting a new one. I immediately went and picked up some fabric and lining the next day. Then, the fabric sat on my desk for over 2 months and I never touched it. So, when I was starting Me-Made-May ’14, I realized that I only had one sewn item to add to the mix. And that was that one skirt. That skirt is wearable but, it definitely isn’t a favorite. I really am not a big fan of the length and I hate that it doesn’t have lining.

So, last night I picked up my fabric and started making the One-Hour skirt from Sewing in a Straight Line by Brett Bara. Well, I started cutting at 6:00 p.m. and stopped sewing at 10:00 p.m. So yeah, it obviously took me more than a hour. πŸ˜‰ And I still need to finish the bottom hem and insert the elastic. I also used the instructions from Emmely of Infectious Stitches on how to add a lining to a skirt. Thank you, Emmely! The going went much better than my last skirt and I am already so in love with it. And the best thing is that I am sewing so much straighter!

I am making a yellow skirt because yellow is such a pretty color yet, for some reason I don’t really own much of it. I got the fabric from Walmart for only $2.00 per yard. If you look at it really closely it has the cutest little dots. I am also really pleased with the feel and movement of the fabric.

I added 2 inches to the length of the skirt and I hope that it falls at least right above the knee or right at the knee. I did take the measurements and it seems to be falling in line. However, with my previous skirt I took the measurements but, it still came out shorter that I intended.

I plan on finishing the skirt tonight. I’ll update you with finished pictures in a post.

4 thoughts on “Making A New Skirt

  1. I’m so slow when it comes to sewing. I’m working on a basic T-shirt right now and I keep seeing people who say they can whip up a T-shirt in 30 min. I worked on mine for an hour and a half last night and only got the shoulders sewn and the sleeves set in!

    I can’t wait to see the finished skirt. I love the fabric you chose.

Leave a Reply

