WIP: Hetty (red) and Simplicity 2444

I am officially done with the OAL2014. I have finished both dresses and both cardigans for the dresses. It was fun and it put a spark in me to sew more things. I really tried to resist sewing more projects because I have less than a month to move out of my apartment. Well, I lost that battle.

I have noticed a lack in my wardrobe of a red cardigan. I did recently make a red bolero but, boleros don’t fit as seamlessly into your wardrobe as cardigans do. Originally, I had planned to make Armande in red however, I scrapped this idea. (I want to make Armande in a vivid blue.) My pink Hetty is one of my most worn cardigans. I really like the lace work and the fit. My favorite cardigans are cropped (but, not too cropped) with a high neck. So, I decided to make another Hetty in the brightest red I could find. In comes Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Red. It’s perfect.

???????????????????

Currently, I am still working on the back and I have been fitting in knit time whenever I can.

IMG_0467[1]

Let’s talk about the dress. First off, I love plaid. And I found this plaid fabric at the thrift store about a year ago for about $2. I’m guessing that it is at least 3 yards, which I figure is enough for a dress. I haven’t actually measured the amount yet. I believe the fabric is polyester so, I do not plan on lining it. This will save me some time also. I chose this Simplicity 2444 pattern because it looks super simple especially compared to my Simplicity 1803. I do not plan on trying to match the lines. I am going to just cut the fabric and go with whatever it does.

???????????????????

To this day, I do not understand Simplicity’s pattern sizing. So, I am going to continue to follow LLADYBIRD‘s advice about sizing. My bust is 32” and the finished bust size for Size 4 is 32.5”. So, I plan on making a Size 4. Hopefully, this will work out well enough.

This pattern gives you the option of adding little details and elements. It’s another Project Runway edition. However, I don’t know exactly how much fabric or time I have so, I am going with the most minimal version. I don’t plan on adding the fancy cape collar, sleeves, or tie belt. I just want a simple sleeveless dress with pockets of course.

I haven’t really started cutting the fabric yet because I’ve been at church the previous 2 nights (and tonight also) for Revival Service. I plan on squeezing in time wherever I find it because next week we have Vacation Bible School for 3 nights also.

It’s kinda funny that I am making these projects simultaneously. So, it is kinda like I’m adding a third outfit to the OAL2014. But, I don’t want to confine myself to that time period because who knows when this will be done. So, it’ll get done when it gets done.

Extra Thoughts: I know I haven’t shown the finished Marvel outfit yet but, I haven’t worn the dress with the cardigan yet. I did wear the dress this past Saturday and I wore the cardigan this past Monday. I planned on getting some pictures done this week but, there has been no time for a photo session. So, as soon as I can I’ll do a blog post about that dress and cardigan.

Leave a Reply

