Finished: Simplicity 2444

Remember my frustration with this dress. Well, it is all over and done.  And now I have a staple dress that I simply love!

This is Simplicity 2444 and it can be a really quick project if you don’t have the hiccups that I experienced with it. Pretty much, this pattern runs small. I am a 32” bust and the Size 4 has a finished 32.5” bust. Well, initially it was too small and I could not close it in the back.

I made the following changes to it:

  1. I took out the side seams and stitched with a 1/4” seam allowance instead of the 5/8”
  2. I did not bring in the back pleats as much.

And that fixed the dress! I now can move about comfortably in the dress.

The fabric was purchased at the thrift store about a year ago for $2. I had about 3 yards so I did the version of the dress that required the least amount of fabric. I really am not sure what type of fiber it is. Initially, I thought a type of polyester blend. Now, I think it may be cotton. I’m not sure but, I love the moveability of the fabric the comfort of it.

While I was working on this dress, no one liked the fabric. My family is not big into plaid. I may be one of the few. However, this morning when my Dad saw me he was like,  It looks so good. I didn’t think the plaid would look right. It’s nice now that I see it. 

So, check out the pics.

IMG_0604[1] IMG_0599[1] IMG_0601[1]Extra Thoughts: I have packed my sewing machine away and maybe I’ll get to sewing something while in school. As a going away present, one of my co-workers from Ghana, Africa has given me some authentic African fabric. It is so gorgeous and I can’t wait to make a dress from it. It is about 3 yards and I am thinking of using this pattern with my personal adjustments for it.

5 thoughts on “Finished: Simplicity 2444

  1. I think it looks absolutely adorable!! You did a great job! Thanks for explaining the adjustments you had to make. I always wonder about that, because I was not blessed with much of a midriff. Anything fitting usually requires having to chop out a chunk here and there. lol

Leave a Reply

