Finished Object: Marion.2

The MarionKAL ends today and I finished in record time. As the deadline pushed closer, I realized how far behind I was. So, on Thursday, I drank coffee and worked to finish my sleeves. The next morning, I finished my neckband. One thing I do not like about rushing is I make careless mistakes.

  • First off, I picked up too many stitches for my set-in sleeve because I forgot I was making the XS this time around and not the S like last time. I noticed this error when I was about to begin the sleeve shaping. I had to rip out that sleeve and start over.
  • Second, for some reason I decreased when I wasn’t supposed to during the sleeve shaping. So, I was short a stitch. I noticed this mistake about five rows later. I was not about to rip back my work. So, I just dropped down to that stitch and corrected the mistake using my handy crochet hook.
  • Finally, when I was binding off I dropped a few stitches in the end but, this was easily corrected.

Despite the errors, I enjoyed knitting this cardigan. The biggest challenge was finding the time to knit. I work, attend classes at night and every other weekend, and have various sessions/seminars/tours that I attend. So, I usually have to pull all-nighters to get some knitting done.

I find time to knit because it really calms me and I enjoy it. I have realized that I need a break from being around my fellow graduate students and instructors so, I have found a knitting group. This will give my mind a break from the academic aspect of my life–which feels consuming–and give me a chance to focus on recreational things. They meet on Thursday night and I can’t wait!

Ok, that’s enough rambling. Check out the details below:

Yarn – Cascade 220

Color – Silver Grey

Needle – Size 8 (5.00 mm)

Level – Easy to Intermediate

DSCN0214

DSCN0212DSCN0213

DSCN0201

DSCN0205 (2)

10 thoughts on “Finished Object: Marion.2

Leave a Reply

