Finished: Kente-Inspired Skirt and Sash

I bought this fabric this past summer while browsing Joann’s Fabrics. I wasn’t set on what I was going to make with it but, I knew I liked it. My nieces hated it. Lol

Well, Global Education Day was coming up and they asked us to dress for the occasion. I then remembered this print! I wanted to make Simplicity 2444 with it but, unfortunately I did not have enough time. (I was on the planning committee for the event). So, after our final exam and final presentation on Saturday, I immediately came home and got to work.

I can’t say this is a specific pattern. It was definitely a variation of the One-Hour Skirt. I added a sash, lining, pockets, and length. So, I definitely did my own thing with it. But, I was really pleased with the end result. Everyone loved the outfit.

Today, I was asked twice if I was from Ghana. This is probably because Kente cloth originates from the Akan group of South Ghana. A guy in the airport said he just came from Ghana and that they definitely dress exactly the way I was dressed.

Unfortunately, my cloth is not genuine kente cloth but, I do like the end result.

Also, the head sash was made using this free tutorial. It worked up super quick so, I can see myself using it in the future.

DSCN0336DSCN0331DSCN0332

5 thoughts on “Finished: Kente-Inspired Skirt and Sash

Leave a Reply

