WIP: Kayla Sweater

DSCN0910

I have never made a crochet sweater. I do have 2 summer tops but, not an actual sweater. It has been my goal to make a crochet sweater for awhile now but, I kept putting it off. Let me just say, that there aren’t many good crochet sweater patterns out there. I do like Doris Chan’s sweaters in her book Everyday Crochet. However, I left that book at my parent’s house and didn’t bring it to school with me.

While browsing Ravelry, I happened upon this sweater pattern. (The designer actually has additional sweater patterns but, I first want to test out this pattern.) So, I bought the pattern and got to work.

First off, I could not believe the low amount of yarn that is needed to make the pattern. I mean this is a crochet pattern. LOL. I most likely will shorten this sweater so, I may not even need that amount of yarn.

I am making the XS. The bust is 29” for this size and my bust is 32”. However, the next size had a bust of 34”. Considering I want a snug fit, I decided to go with the XS. Also, I did not get gauge with the J-hook so, went down to the I-hook. So far, everything is looking great and I don’t believe I will have any fit issues. We shall see…

Let me just say that I am loving this extended single crochet stitch, which is used for this pattern. It is dense but, not bulky or stiff.

I am using Lion Brand Heartland in Redwood. I saw this acrylic yarn in Walmart and I thought the colors were so pretty. Actually, the entire line is pretty amazing. The colors are inspired by national monuments. Now, I don’t know how it is going to hold up. So, this yarn is also a test too. Haha. This sweater is on trial 😉

I am so anxious to see the finished results of this sweater.

2 thoughts on “WIP: Kayla Sweater

Leave a Reply

