Finished Object: Henriette

This past Sunday, I completed my Henriette cardigan. I am pretty pleased with the end result. This is a pattern by Andi Satterlund that was released in Fall of 2014. When I saw her swatches and her WIP pics, I knew this cardigan had to be a part of my wardrobe. I do like the color, but I feel like I have to be extra careful not to stain it. Today was my first day wearing it. I must admit that I only brought it along for chilly buildings. I definitely shed it when outside. This cardigan is made with bulky weight alpaca and it is not conducive to the 80 degree weather we are having in North Carolina. And considering I walk everywhere, it’s just not a good idea to wear it outdoors.

This is not a mindless knit. It does take some concentration (and careful note taking). There were a couple of times that I had to rip back some rows due to mistakes. But, they were easily fixed. Also, I wasn’t sure how the cardigan was going to turn out. Everything was bunched when knitting it up. It was worked from the bottom up, so I couldn’t try it on until the very end. Also, the button band looked wonky because it stood up weirdly. Once I blocked it all out, everything came together beautifully.

I made the XS size because Andi suggests 1-3 inches of negative ease for this cardigan.

Also, I did not use 3/4” buttons as recommended. My buttons are 1”. They were in my button stash and they worked out perfectly. I like them.

Details:

Yarn – Berocco Ultra Alpaca Chunky

Color – Winter White

Needle – Size 9 (5.5 mm)

Level – Intermediate

Size – XS (29)

DSCN1148 (2) DSCN1150 (2) DSCN1151 (2) DSCN1158 (2) DSCN1163 (2) DSCN1166

OAN: Me Made May 2015 is underway. Expect a post tomorrow documenting my first week.

10 thoughts on “Finished Object: Henriette

  1. Beautiful. The pattern really ‘sings’ in the yarn which you’ve chosen. I love the reverse stocking stitch against the lace pattern. I have recently completed a sweater which has reverse stocking stitch arms. Something a little bit different from usual stocking stitch.

Leave a Reply

