Small Projects for the Takeover

I can’t believe it’s been over a year since my last post. I participated in Me Made May last year and I am participating again this year. Instead of doing weekly Me Made May posts, I’ll do a recap at the end of the month. I’m happy to say that I have worn something Me-Made everyday this month. Some days I did not feel like posting, but I stuck it through.

While my blogging activity has been low, I have steadily been crafting away. However, I think the year 2016 was my least productive year. I did not sew a thing, I did not finish a crochet item, and I only finished a hat and a cardigan. Very disappointing. I can say that I was focused on finishing out my last year of my Master of Library Science program, while also applying to a Ph.D. program in Library and Information Science. It was quite the task. I am happy to say that I was accepted to the University of South Carolina in Columbia’s doctoral program and I just finished out my second semester quite successfully. Summer 2016 consisted of relocating to Columbia. In the process of moving from North Carolina to Alabama to South Carolina, I did misplace my handmade scarves, cowls, and hats. Therefore, there is a need for me to make more scarves, cowls, and hats.

Now, on to the knitting and crocheting. For this post, I will focus on my smaller projects. I will detail my cardigans and sweaters in another post.

One of my church members, had a baby girl this past winter. I knew that I wanted to make her something because she was very excited about having her first girl (she has five boys). I always admired the Cloud Layette set in the Big Book of Crochet and I was excited about the project. I think baby’s look so adorable in white. It’s something about it that is so fresh. I made the cardigan, booties, and bonnet and chose not to create the blanket. Initially, I planned to use white ribbon, but decided pink ribbon would be a nice accent. Below I’ve listed a few project details and an image of the set. (OAN: My sister is expecting and the baby is due in November, so it looks like more baby knits are in my future.)

Yarn – Bernat Softee Baby Solids & Marls

Hook – 5.5 mm (I)

Level – Easy

Size – 3 months

I really wanted to get back to knitting everyday, so I decided to start carrying small projects with me in my backpack. Therefore, I could knit in between classes. So, I made a few cardigans for my American Girl dolls, which are 18 inch dolls. (BTW, I have been a big AG fan since 1994 when my mom surprised me with my Addy doll for Christmas 1994.) So, I knitted the Rylie Nautical cardigan for my dolls. Project details are below:

Yarn – Knit Picks Palette in Limeade Heather

Needle – 2.25 mm (US 1)

Level – Easy

Modifications – I made it in a solid color and did not include the stripes. I shortened the length by omitting 9 rows.

With the leftover yarn, I decided to make a crochet cardigan/shrug for the American Girl Wellie Wisher doll, which is a 14 inch doll. Details below:

Hook – 3.25 mm (D)

Pattern – Heavy modification of a dress pattern

Level – Easy

Then, I decided to make another 18 inch doll cardigan using the same Rylie Nautical pattern. Details are below:

Yarn – Knit Picks Palette in Candied Yam

Needle – 2.25 mm (US 1)

Level – Easy

Modifications – No stripes. I shortened the body by 9 rows. Switched the button band to the correct/female side. Added buttonholes every 10th row and not every 8th row as stated in the pattern.

On Instagram, I posted about being busy and wanting to focus on smaller projects. Well, one of my followers suggested I take up sock knitting. I figured “Why not?” Man, did I go down the rabbit hole. I love creating socks! I’ve made 4 pairs already and look forward to making many more.

The first pair I made was the Picot Socks from Pom Pom Quarterly website. In the description, it stated that this would be a good project for first-time sock knitters. So, I cast on. I was new to Judy’s Magic Cast On and reffered to the video HERE for a tutorial. I also refered to this the video HERE for help in sewing down the picot hem. I was quite pleased with my first pair of socks. Also, these were worked toe-up. Further details below:

Yarn – Deborah Norville Serenity Sock Weight in Soft White

Needle – 2.75 mm (US 2)

Level – Easy to Intermediate

Following that sock project, I wanted something a bit more complex. I had admired the Interchange Socks from Stranded Magazine’s first issue for the longest. I figured now would be the time to cast on the socks. I bought this yarn during my Study Abroad trip to Denmark. There was this beautiful yarn shop in Copenhagen called Somerflugen. It was so charming. I also bought a sweaters quantity of this citrus green yarn that I have plans for making a vintage pullover in the future… So, these socks are quite special to me. And I will always remember Copenhagen when wearing them. Also, these were worked cuff down–my favorite method. Details below:

Yarn – Mayflower 1 class in 2029 (blue)

Needle – 2.25 mm (US 1)

Level – Intermediate

Following that pair of complex socks, I wanted to try a basic vanilla sock. I used Yarngasms basic vanilla sock pattern of Favorite Socks with modifications. I was watching Order of the Phoenix when knitting these, so that’s the name of them. I like the flashes of orange. It definitely reminds me of Dumbledore’s phoenix. Details below:

Yarn – Knit Picks Stroll Handpainted in Koi Pond

Needle – 2.5 mm (US 1.5)

Level – Beginner to Easy

Modifications – did a 1 inch cuff; did a 5 inch leg (wasn’t paying attention on sock 2 and it has 5.5” leg); on heel flap stitch section I ended on WS row (row 1); in gusset section, I first knit across then proceeded to step 1. I did not make the last stitch picked up the last stitch in the round. I made my last stitch the center of the heel, which I prefer.; for instep decrease, my row 2 was adjusted because I changed my last stitch to the center of the heel, which was: k to 3 sts before instep. k2tog k1, k28, k1 ssk, k to end; for the knit the foot section, my last round was: remove marker A, knit to marker B. This is now the beginning of the round.

 

So, after that simple pattern I wanted something a bit more complex. Notice a pattern here (simple to complex to simple to complex). LOL. This is the Eyelet Rib Socks from the Knit Picks book Socktacular. Details below:

Yarn – Knit Picks Stroll Glimmer in Runway

Needle – 2.5 mm (US 1.5)

Level – Easy

Notes – 2×2 cuff, eye of partridge heel, grafted toes

Whew! That post turned out to be much longer that I anticipated. That’s what a I get for taking such a long hiatus. Future posts will be about my new Andi Satterlund cardigans and a test knit I did for the new knitwear designer Amy Appel. It’s good to be back.

Leave a Reply

