Outfit Along 2017

Today marks the first day of the OAL2017. I’m pretty excited about this outfit along and look forward to having a completed dress and cardigan at the end of it all. The idea of the Outfit Along is to knit a garment and sew a garment. Patterns are suggested for the Outfit Along; however, you don’t have to adhere to those patterns. In fact, I will be knitting the suggested cardigan of Anaheim; however, I will not be knitting the suggested dress pattern of Kim by By Hand By London. Instead, I will be knitting Simplicity 1803 again.

I actually went to my stash for everything needed for the Outfit Along. I did not want to purchase new yarn, new fabric, or a new pattern. My stash may not be large, but I did bring a few things to Columbia with me. So, for the yarn I will be using Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Sport in the color Avocado. (I was actually eating an avocado while knitting my gauge and it actually matched the avocado perfectly. 🙂 ) The pattern actually calls for a DK weight yarn, but I was able to get gauge with a sport weight yarn by blocking it heavily. I also went down to a size 5 needle because I did not want the fabric to be too open by using a larger needle. To avoid having to block the finished garment quite so heavily, I will knit up a size to size Small instead of my usual Extra Small. Hopefully, this will all work out.

As for the dress, I will be using this fabric that was a gift to me from a previous co-worker. She is from West Africa and this is fabric from her home. I really like the bright cheery colors and I think it will make a beautiful dress. Also, I want to add underlining to the dress to give it a bit more depth. I plan on making the version of the dress that has the simple neckline. I think that little dip will look lovely with the V-neck portion of the cardigan.

To prepare for the Outfit Along, I completed my gauge swatches two nights ago. I created one in the stockinette stitch pattern and the other in the lace pattern. Also, I pre-washed and ironed my fabric yesterday. Hopefully, I will start cutting either today or tomorrow. Cutting is the part of sewing that I dread the most…

DSCN5937

2 thoughts on “Outfit Along 2017

Leave a Reply

