Finished Object: Hollyburn Skirt

I’ve really been on a sewing kick lately. And I am not fighting it. Because sewing happens so infrequently in my life (I’m a knitter at heart), I don’t get much sewing done. So, I’m using this bout of inspiration to fill in some wardrobe gaps I noticed during Me Made May. At the conclusion of Me Made May, I really wanted more dresses and skirts in my wardrobe. So far, I have finished two dresses and a skirt. Today, we will talk about that skirt.

Years ago, I noticed this beautiful pattern when Tassadit created the most wonderful and elegant version of this skirt HERE. But, I wasn’t sewing at the time (didn’t even own a sewing machine), so I simply admired the beautiful work. This skirt pattern has been the pattern I’ve been searching for since I started sewing. It is Sewaholic’s Hollyburn skirt. I really like the high-waist fit and the flared bottom. This is the epitome of my style. And an extra bonus is the pockets! And the button tabs! I actually purchased this pattern over a year ago for the Outfit Along, but was unable to participate. So, this pattern just sat static for over a year.

The pattern worked up surprisingly quickly. I actually cut out the pieces, the fabric, and started sewing after church on Sunday. I finished at around 1am that morning. (Sewing always makes me pull late nighters. Lol). The fabric used is a salmon pink denim that I found at Joann’s Fabric store. I actually visited Joann’s fabric store the day before and bought a zipper. I noticed that fabric while there, but resisted purchasing it. Well, that night I couldn’t get it out of my mine. So, I woke up early the next day and went back to Joann’s to get the fabric (It helps that the Joann’s is literally down the street from my place.) Overall, I am very pleased with the flow of the fabric with the pattern. It is exactly how I envisioned it in my mind.

The button tabs are another favorite aspect to the skirt. I purchased the buttons at Joann’s also for only 50 cent! That was a deal for beautiful wooden buttons. In addition to that, the flowers on the buttons perfectly match the color of the skirt. They were made for each other.

I definitely see more Hollyburn skirts in my future.

DSCN6018DSCN6016DSCN6012

2 thoughts on “Finished Object: Hollyburn Skirt

Leave a Reply

