OAL2014: Finished Myrna, Cutting, and Underlining the Dress

Last Thursday, I finished my Myrna cardigan and actually wore it this past Sunday to church. I probably won’t wear it again until my dress is finished. I don’t want to wear it out. Check out the pic below of the finished cardigan. Let me tell you, it was HOT this past Sunday yet, this was the perfect lightweight cardigan. Since this cardigan worked up so fast, I actually started another Myrna using Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in whirlpool yesterday. I’ll talk about that later on in this post.

??????? IMG_0269[1]

I started cutting for my dress this past Friday. To ensure accuracy, I took my precious time about it. I finished the cutting for everything last night. I am definitely moving at a snail’s pace.

IMG_0271[1]IMG_0277[1]

I really debated with myself on if I should add underlining. I wanted underlining to give the garment a better structure. Also, this would make the dress fit seamlessly into my wardrobe for the Fall and Winter. After much debate, I decided to go through with the underlining. At the end of the day, I was just being lazy and I figured that I might as well go through with it. Last night, I started basting my pieces. I used LLADYBIRD’s tutorial for underlining and I really like how simple it is. The process of basting the pieces was so relaxing to me. Or maybe I was just so done with the cutting that I enjoyed this next step. I sat at the dining room table and watched a few detective shows while basting.

IMG_0290[1]IMG_0289[1]

So, let’s talk about some changes I’m making to my outfits. Yes, outfits with an ‘s’. Remember when I told you all how I bought some owl fabric from Joann’s because I couldn’t find the Marvel print. Well, I did find the Marvel print later on but, I still kept staring at the owl print with the pretty pink lining I bought for it. It sat next to my sewing table and just tempted me. So, I made up my mind to make another dress! I will make these dresses simultaneously and hopefully they will be finished around the same time. I know this is a lot for a person that has never sewn a dress but, I can’t help myself. I like to challenge myself and I figured it’s definitely possible.

For the Marvel dress I plan on making Bodice A with the yoke, which isn’t everyone’s cup of tea but, I adore it. For the Owl dress I plan on making Bodice B, which has no yoke. Both dresses will be sleeveless. Since I wear cardigans the majority of the time with my dresses, I don’t like the added bulk of sleeves.

Both dresses will have underlining. The Marvel print dress will have a black satin lining and the Owl dress will have a pink rayon lining.

Initially, I had planned on wearing the yellow Myrna with my Marvel dress. Then, yesterday I randomly noticed that the blue from my current Myrna matched Captain America perfectly in the Marvel print! Then, I grabbed my yellow cardigan and put it next to the owl print and it looked absolutely perfect against it! So, I plan on wearing the blue Myrna with the Marvel dress and the yellow Myrna with the owl dress. Of course, down the line I will remix it either way. But, I prefer these combinations.

IMG_0284[1] IMG_0286[1]

I plan on cutting for the owl dress sometime this week. Next week, I am off work so I hope to get quite a bit done. I’ll keep you posted.

OAN: I’ll be leaving for graduate school in North Carolina soon and I can’t believe I am making dresses and moving at the same time. I’m a busy bee. This has really been the year for moving. I for one am sick of the moving process but, I look forward to the relocating process.

 

 

8 thoughts on “OAL2014: Finished Myrna, Cutting, and Underlining the Dress

  1. Yay, I look forward to your dresses, they sound great (also, congrats on grad school!). I have a question on Myrna I’m hoping you can help with – my armholes look *ginormous*. Is this normal? My gauge is right, I haven’t invented more rows where there aren’t any, but they look so big that I can’t quite convince myself it’s right, so for now, I’ve stopped knitting. Any ideas? Were yours really big as well? (Also, gosh, you knit quickly!)

Leave a Reply

