Black Lives Matter

I’m Black. Everyday. All day. Every second of the day.

I’ve come to my blog to write because the overload of commentary on Facebook and Instagram has been much. However, I am grateful that more voices are being added to the conversation. I just felt so drowned.

The murder of George Floyd seems to be the straw that broke the camel’s back. I know it felt that way with me. Why? Because this is nothing new, but it was like “When is this going to stop?” I spoke with friends and family. We went through so many emotions. Rage. Anger. Sadness. Hopelessness. Despair. Fear.

I’m from a predominantly Black town in southern USA; yet, the state is fraught with racial tensions. We were taught our history heavily by our Black teachers, leaders, and family. It is for that reason that I know the injustices against Blacks in this country go so far back. Very far. But, for the sake of time I’ll say Emmet Till’s horrific death led to the Civil Rights Movement. More would die. Are still dying. George Floyd’s death has re-energized the movement as we boldly state, “Black Lives Matter!”

Yet…it makes me so sad that my mother who turns 70 on July 26 is asking me and others where the protests are being held because she wants to join. She’s been going through this her entire life. She shouldn’t have to. It makes me sad that my nieces and nephews are joining in the movement and don’t have the luxury to just be children. Yet…it also gives me courage because they are willing to fight for a better future. That is hope.

How does this connect with the fiber arts? As the first statement of this post states, I’m Black. I don’t have the luxury to escape into my knitting, sewing, etc. Even when I’m creating something that brings me joy, I’m simultaneously aware of the injustice. When people come to my platforms and find inspiration from my crafts that makes me so happy. The appreciation and unity we have for the arts has always brought me such joy.

Now, I’ve been getting an influx of followers due to this unrest. I’ll admit I don’t know how I feel about this. I have NEVER wanted to be the token black girl. Please don’t make me a token.

ETA: Although I appreciate people wanting to support a Black crafter, I hope that people are here for my creative content. This will be the main focus of the page. However, I will share resources for racial justice from time to time.

 

5 thoughts on “Black Lives Matter

      • You write as well as you craft. I’ve always been a fan – not because you’re Black, but because you’re YOU – a very special, talented, kind and creative YOU. I’m almost your Mom’s age. I would have been marching too except for COVID. Don’t let her do it. It’s not worth the risk for the over 65 group. You only get one Mom, so protect her from the virus. And stay healthy yourself. Yes, Black Lives Matter Too. Great strides have been made over the past few weeks, but a lot still needs to change.
        Hugs from KimmyZ

  1. Hi Constance,
    I have been watching your podcast for awhile now. I love everything you do and am so inspired by your makes and sense of style.
    I just wanted to comment on here and say that I hear you. My heart really goes out to you and your wonderful family whom you have shared with us through the podcast. I try to do my best as a white person to fight for racial justice but I know that I can and should do more all the time.

    Take care,
    Erika

Leave a comment