Vivien Sweater (The Unfinished Christmas KAL)

Well, since we’re discussing KALs. Let’s talk about the only KAL I didn’t finish. Do you remember I joined Andi’s Christmas Sweater KAL, which was a challenge to finish a Christmas sweater in a year? Christmas 2014 came and went and I didn’t even have a finished front. I failed. So, I tucked the cardigan away. Picked it back up in the Spring. Then, tucked it away again. Chart work takes concentration and most of the time I just want a mindless knit. However, the unfinished project just kept staring at me on my Ravelry page. So, a few weeks back I decided that I was going to finish this sweater if it was the last thing I do.

I mean, it is a simply stunning fair isle. I am really pleased with the color choices (I pretty much stayed in the same color family as the modeled sweater). So, why not finish this? Also, I know it will be a wardrobe staple that I will probably wear for years to come.

With that determination, I finished all parts to this sweater this past weekend! I have started weaving in the ends, which is no fun. I hope to at least start the blocking this weekend. Then, I’ll do the seaming.

I can’t wait to show you all the finished product.

DSCN3304 DSCN3328

3 thoughts on “Vivien Sweater (The Unfinished Christmas KAL)

  1. Your Vivien looks beautiful as it is. I am sure that it will look stunning when it is finished and will be well worth the wait.

  2. Ah wow! I really want to make a fair isle sweater, but I still have that plain jumper to be finished… I wish I had the same amount of patience for my knitting that my knitting has for me. Those poor orphan yarns are just waiting to be loved and knitted! ☺

Leave a comment